This Must Be Possible, Right?? (Tax reports in Q Mac)

Scott Schmidt
Scott Schmidt Member ✭✭
edited March 2020 in Reports (Mac)
Folks - I was doing my taxes yesterday and I wanted to create a report showing interest/dividends/cap gain distributions for selected securities, subtotaled by security, for a given time period. Easily done in Quicken Mac 2007, and it also appears to be hard-coded in the Tax Schedule canned report (under Schedule D, except that all securities are shown along with all of the other tax-related information. When I try to even modify the canned tax report using the "Customize" button, it's impossible to pare it down to anything smaller, except for date range.

I'm still new to QM2019, and this is my first time doing my routine tax reporting with it. But for the life of me, I can't find a way to make it create a report like this. It must be possible, right? Right?

Please let me know if you know how to accomplish this (very basic and essential) task, that any personal finance software program should be able to do. Thanks!
Tagged:

Best Answers

Answers

• ninaz
    ninaz Mac Beta Beta
    As I said in another thread, I don't understand why you would create the new reports without a way to sub-total. The old summary report allowed the use of tags to sub-total. Is that ever going to come back? Is there somewhere to vote for that to be added to the new reports?

I understand that you can filter to group by tag in the new report, but it doesn't sub-total.

I really need to be able to sub-total categories by account for things like interest.

For this year, I am continuing to use the old summary report. @Scott Schmidt have you tried using that report? I know there say there have been problems with that old version. I have not found it yet.
  • jacobs
    jacobs SuperUser, Mac Beta Beta
    @ninaz We're not the programming team here; we're fellow users -- so we can't answer why they did it the way they did.