Data Access and Support on this Community...

Hello - I am a very long term Quicken user; 1994 to be exact. I just rebuilt a CLEAN NEW file because of corruption in my file which occurred in the last 2 years. I have never had an issue in the past 24. Regardless, I want some reports off of my older FILE and I open a 2016 Backup and Quicken is asking for my Quicken credential to open and present the data. 1) I don't want this file to potentially corrupt my new file as I spent hour rebuilding it. and 2) It's my data, the file should just OPEN. All I need is reports for prior year and I can't get them. Additionally, I can't ask a question anywhere but this section, which assumes I am contemplating a purchase. I have spent about $3000 on Quicken software faithfully upgrading annually because I work in the industry. How do propose I open this 2016 file? I don't want to waste a lot of time on support this data request. Thank you ~

Answers

• Quicken Anja
    Quicken Anja Moderator mod
    edited August 2020
    Hello @Jim H,

Thank you for reaching out to the Community with your question.

Quicken prompts users to sign in each time there is a new file or backup file is opened solely for verification of your active subscription as each file operates separately from other data files and do not communicate with each other. Therefore, opening the backup file will not interfere or corrupt your new file.

I hope this helps and let us know if you have any additional questions!

-Quicken Anja
    Make sure to sign up for the email digest to see a round up of your top posts.

• Ps56k2
    Ps56k2 SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    What version are you currently running .... Help --> About Quicken
    first question anyone "in the industry" would ask.
    1 - If you have a Q2016 backup - you can restore that to a New & Different file -
    and not overlay your current New file... the prompt is displayed -
    better to also be safe and take a backup of your current/new Q file