Online balance and ending balance don't match

I've been using Quicken starter edition for about 5 years for "the basics". I got a couple of months behind on reconciling one Citi credit card (last successful recon was 5/28/20). My online balance and ending balance differ by $100.79. I kept thinking it was maybe a credit card posting timing issue and would work itself out but, after a week of waiting and finally just manually comparing each transaction from Citi and to Quicken since 5/28, I'm not finding any discrepancies. Earlier this year I did have a recon issue of $12.99 for a transaction that was on my Citi card that didn't get entered into Quicken (via direct connect). My other few credit card and bank accounts are fine - it's just this one Citi account that's the problem. Thoughts or ideas?
Tagged:

Best Answer

Answers

• Frankx
    Frankx SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    Hi @SDrew1,

A few quick questions:

Can you tell us what the actual balances are that show a difference of $100.79?

In your "manually comparing" process - did you just look at charges on the card, or did you also compare payments you made?  Did you also look for odd entries, such as credits given for items you had purchased but later returned for credit?

Lastly, did you make an entry in Quicken to fix that $12.99 transaction?

Frankx

Quicken Home, Business & Rental Property - Windows 10-Home Version

- - - - Quicken User since 1984 - - - 
      -  If you find this reply helpful, please click "Helpful" (below), so others will know! Thank you.  -

• SDrew1
    SDrew1 Member ✭✭
    Hi Frankx,

Online balance = $1809.45, Ending balance = $1708.66

The comparison I did included: charges, payments and credits (164 charges, 5 payments and 2 credits)