How to handle Paypal Checking and Paypal Credit Accounts in Quicken

Hi, I am relatively new to Quicken, and I am running a Mac subscription (Quicken Deluxe 2020). I have a Quicken file that has a Paypal Checking (Cash Account) and Paypal Credit Card (Credit Card Account). I am attempting to reconcile transactions between these two accounts and my Bank of America Checking Account (main checking account). I see that most of the transactions in the Paypal Credit Account are credit card payments from Bank of America and most of the transactions in the Paypal Checking account are purchases or paying a friend, etc. But, I see some transactions where I paid a person in the Paypal Checking account and it appears in the Paypal Credit Card account. Both transactions are debits, so I can't transfer from one account to another without creating a third transaction that would look like a credit in the Paypal Credit Card account. How do I handle the transactions between the Paypal Credit Card Account and Paypal Checking account, so I don't have dupes or missing transactions?

I am very confused about how to handle the Paypal accounts. Thank you!

Answers

• NotACPA
    NotACPA SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    From what you've described, I'd set up the PP checking account as a checking account in Q ... and the PP credit card as a credit card in Q.
    Thus, they'd act like any other checking or card account and you'd record expenses in them, any transfers into them (checking deposits or card payments) as transfers.
    Payments to/from BofA would, likewise, be transfers.

Q user since February, 1990. DOS Version 4
    Now running Quicken Windows Subscription, Business & Personal
    Retired "Certified Information Systems Auditor" & Bank Audit VP

• mtsingle93
    mtsingle93 Member ✭✭