Non-zero Actuals for Categories without Budgets not showing up on report

Hello,

I have been using Quicken for Windows since 2004. So I have many categories I used to use that I no longer use in the current year. However, occasionally, I will use a category or sub-category for which I haven't seleted for budgeting in the current year.

When I print the Budget vs. Actual report, it does not show the actuals for categories that weren't budgeted in the current year. In the past, I used the advanced option "non-zero actual/budgeted" to print actuals for unbudgeted categories and only non-zero actuals.

Now, to get the unbudgeted categories to show up in the report, I must go to the Planning tab and add select that category/sub-category to be in the current year budget (although I don't have to put in any amount).

It worked for many years but stopped working a couple of years ago. I think that the advanced option has either changed or is not working correctly. I can't include "all categories" as I have many categories for past years that I no longer use and i don't want all those zero amounts to show in the report.

Is there any way for the Actual vs Budget report to show non-zero, unbudgeted items without having to go into Planning and selecting that category to be included in the current year budget?

Windows Version R29.22
Release 27.1.29.22
Tagged:

Answers

• Sherlock
    Sherlock Member ✭✭✭✭
    edited November 2020
    Non-Zero actual/budgeted should include all categories with non-zero actuals or non-zero budgeted amounts, inclusively.  I suspect another filter may be impacting the report.  If not, you may want to review: https://www.quicken.com/support/advanced-data-file-troubleshooting-correct-problems-quicken-windows
  • Chris_QPW
    Chris_QPW Member ✭✭✭✭
    Well I just tested in my data file and for me it works the way you said you wanted it.
    I'm on R30.9, but I doubt that is the problem.

Signature: