How to close out the year and bring forward balances in the categories

I am using Quicken starter edition on WIN10. I use it just for my checkbook and budgeting. I have been using it for 3 years now and haven't been able to figure out how to close out a year and bring forward any balances in my categories. I appreciate your help in advance. I am a beginner user, so step by step is appreciated!

Best Answer

• GeoffG
    GeoffG SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    Answer ✓
    Quicken mirrors real-life finances. Any accounts (checking, savings, CC or investments) in real-life should be in Quicken. Do you close real-life accounts on 12/31 to start new? Of course not. There is no reason to close out any account in Quicken. Balances simply roll over to the following year. Reports are what provide the ability to segment one year from another.

Answers

• GeoffG
    GeoffG SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    Answer ✓
    Quicken mirrors real-life finances. Any accounts (checking, savings, CC or investments) in real-life should be in Quicken. Do you close real-life accounts on 12/31 to start new? Of course not. There is no reason to close out any account in Quicken. Balances simply roll over to the following year. Reports are what provide the ability to segment one year from another.
  • Ps56k2
    Ps56k2 SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited February 2021
    I've never understood the idea of menu items for - end of year -
    As mentioned by @GeoffG - just mimic the real world - keep everything going,
    and merely create a Report of Last Year - if that is of interest to you.
    Just received an email from my Credit Card about my CC report of my spending for the year.... it's just a report - my CC is still open, has a balance, etc -

QWin - R54.16 - Win10

• Chris_QPW
    Chris_QPW Member ✭✭✭✭
    Ps56k2 said:
    I've never understood the idea of menu items for - end of year -

The concept for closing out a year comes from businesses/accounting.  It really doesn't apply to person finances.
    Signature: