new version for bank sync?

will t
will t Member ✭✭
I've been using quicken deluxe since 1992. Purchased Q2020 February of last year. It's asking to be purchased again if I want to link bank and credit cards. Is this a yearly thing now??? Not worth $30+ dollars every year. If I don't purchase, will I be able to manually download and sync accounts from the banks and CCs websites?

Best Answers

• Frankx
    Frankx SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited March 2021 Answer ✓
    Hi @will t,

The answer is - yes, Quicken is (and has been for a few years now) a subscription product/service.  Typically, users sign up for a 1 year subscription, which comes up for renewal at its end.

If you don't re-subscribe, as a "Deluxe" user you will be able to use the application, but it would switch to manual entry only - meaning that you will not be able to download and sync your accounts with banks and other financial institutions.  That ability, is part of what you would be paying for under the subscription, plus it will include program updates which include product enhancements.

Oh, one more thing - if you don't extend your subscription and you continue to use Quicken in the manual mode - there will appear on every screen a "reminder" to renew your subscription which covers about 20% of the total screen.

Hope this helps.  Post back if you have any followups, or questions.

Frankx

Quicken Home, Business & Rental Property - Windows 10-Home Version

- - - - Quicken User since 1984 - - - 
      -  If you find this reply helpful, please click "Helpful" (below), so others will know! Thank you.  -

• Boatnmaniac
    Boatnmaniac SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    Answer ✓
    will t said:
    I currently have deluxe, can i renew as a starter user? I only really want to download transactions from my CC and online savings accounts. Don't need planning, budgeting etc