Add option to validate data file as part of the manual backup process...

Options
Snowman
Snowman Member ✭✭✭✭
I have been using Quicken for 20 years now.  Some will recommend NOT to validate the data file on a regular basis (I do so at minimum of once a week) but I hold the opposite opinion and here is why. 

There have been several occasions over the years when I did not validate my file and when I finally did there was a fatal flaw.  I had to go back and find a backup file (I create these on a daily basis) that would validate properly.  I then had to reconstruct and re-enter the data for periods of up to 8 months.

This December was a very busy month and I neglected to validate the file for four weeks.  I had inputted a large amount number of transactions.  I then put the data file on my laptop and headed out on vacation.  The first day out I validated the file after a month of not doing so.  There were error where a number of accounts had been deleted (no accounts had been deleted I could open them up just fine).  It further stated that it would erase all of the transactions that were in the accounts that had been deleted, not a option.  I backed up the corrupt file, then did the validate and repair on the file copy and it deleted all of the transactions it said it would. 

I had to restore a file from 12/6/2019 in order to get a file that validated properly, then I had reenter a months worth of data that involved over 300 transactions/transfers/reconciliations/etc. in 18 accounts.

Quickbooks validates the data file before it does a backup.  Now I realize Quickbooks is a completely different animal (I use it as well) but the reason it is done that way is to prevent you from backing up corrupted data. .