How do I pair credit card payments from to Checking Account Register to my Credit Card Register

I am new to Quicken and just set up my accounts. I have several credit cards and one checking account. I downloaded the last three months worth of transactions (or as far back as the FI will go) from my respective credit cards and from my checking account. I know I need to categorize the expenses in the credit card registers to track spending and that when I pay the credit cards they should be transfers, but that is not how these downloaded items appear. The payee in the Checking Account is the name of the checking account in brackets (indicating a transfer into the same account).

I am pretty sure the payee should be shown as a transfer to the credit card (i.e. [Amazon Visa]) but if I change it it does not match up with the corresponding transaction on the credit card register (maybe because they posted a few days apart). It adds the transaction with the exact same date the money was taken from my checking account, which is a day or two after the date the credit card company used. So I have a double entry, one that offers the option to go to matching transfer and the other (the one auto downloaded) sitting there. The only option is to delete the earlier dated version, but I do not want to go through three months worth of transactions altering category for each payment and then going and deleting the unmatched version.

Is there a way I can link them, automatically or manually? It is as if Quicken does not recognize that they are two sides of the same transfer, but thinks they are separate events each listing the category as a transfer back into the same account.

Any ideas? I tried to be as clear as I could but might not be explaining it in the correct lingo. If clarification is needed, let me know.

Thanks

Answers

• splasher
    splasher SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭