Quicken for Mac 2004 Upgrade to latest Version

YukonJack
YukonJack Member
I've been using Quicken for Mac 2004 for years. I recently purchased the latest Deluxe version. It seems 2004 is too old to convert directly to this new version. What are my options?

From what I've read I need to be at a minimum of Version 2007. Where can I find that version?

Any other ideas?

Thank you

Answers

• John_in_NC
    John_in_NC SuperUser, Mac Beta Beta
    edited January 2022
    The most practical would be to start a new file and move on.

Is upgrade possible? Yes, with the correct older hardware and operating system. What Mac/OS do you have at your disposal?

And be aware that the 2007 carries a big asterisk about possible conversion. You need to answer the above first. 
  • YukonJack
    YukonJack Member
    It is a 2007 iMac running OS 10.4.11, I believe that is Tiger. I can start new but would really like to keep as much of the 20+ years of data that I have. I really didn't do anything special with it, just basic banking.
  • jacobs
    jacobs SuperUser, Mac Beta Beta
    Your potential upgrade path is possible but tricky...

There are basically two versions of Quicken 2007: the original (version 16.0) version which works on operating systems up to Snow Leopard (10.6.8), and the updated version (16.1.x and 16.2.x) which works on later operating systems, from Lion (10.7) through Mojave (10.14).

The original (16.0) version can read and update a Quicken 2004 data file. The updated (16.1/16.2) version cannot. So you don't just need to find a copy of Quicken 2007, you need to find the original (16.0) version. You can sometimes find someone selling one on eBay or elsewhere -- but if the version you find says it runs on versions of macOS beyond 10.6, it's the wrong version.