What files to keep?

I have been using Quicken for many years and want to cleanup the big Quicken folder. It seems that I only need to keep the last 5 or6 QDF files and the last 5 or 6 QDF-BACKUP files . Is that correct?

Best Answers

• Chris_QPW
    Chris_QPW Member ✭✭✭✭
    Answer ✓
    The QDF and QDF-backup are the only files that actually contain Quicken data.
    the *.dat files are "log files" like the OFX log and the Quicken Cloud Sync log file.  The .DAT file is the log file in a "scrambled" form because they contain personal information, and as such can only be viewed from Help -> Log Files...

As such these *.dat files can be considered temporary.  They will get recreated the next time you update things.  Quicken also from time to time creates other files that really shouldn't be there like LOG or the GPUCache folder.  Again, these are temporary files.
    Signature:
    This is my website: http://www.quicknperlwiz.com/
  • splasher
    splasher SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    Answer ✓
    Once imported into Quicken, the .QFX files can be deleted.

-splasher using Q continuously since 1996
    - Subscription Quicken - Win11 and QW2013 - Win11
    -Questions? Check out the Quicken Windows FAQ list

Answers

• splasher
    splasher SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    I have been using Quicken for many years and want to cleanup the big Quicken folder. It seems that I only need to keep the last 5 or6 QDF files and the last 5 or 6 QDF-BACKUP files . Is that correct?

The "last 5 or 6 QDF files"?  What makes them different?

• flotsamfred
    flotsamfred Member ✭✭
    Only to have multiple backups taken at various times . I guess you could save one and take a chance? Like having more than one SYSTEM RESTORE POINTS.
  • splasher
    splasher SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    Only to have multiple backups taken at various times . I guess you could save one and take a chance? Like having more than one SYSTEM RESTORE POINTS.