Without subscription can't use Quicken starter version

Cmterg27
Cmterg27 Member ✭✭
Dear Quicken, all the messages I got saying I had to renew or I wouldn't be able to download account data, etc and upload updates to the program, never said I could manually enter new data. I have been using this for about 30 years. I've bought a new version every 4-5 years.
I do not need the downloading tools.

You have lost a loyal customer.
[Removed - Solicitation]

Comments

• jacobs
    jacobs SuperUser, Mac Beta Beta
    @Cmterg27 First, I want to let you know that you aren't speaking to Quicken management here — just fellow Quicken users and a handful of Quicken moderators.

Second, buying a new version every 4-5 years went out the door when Quicken switched to subscription pricing back in 2018. It was publicized at the time of that change and ever since that Quicken Starter becomes read-only if a subscription lapses, while Quicken Deluxe and Premier can continue to be used for manual transaction entry. If you've been using Quicken Starter since 2018, you have apparently been paying to maintain a subscription until now, and if so, it's only a few dollars more per year to switch to Quicken Deluxe, which you could then continue using after your subscription expires.

If you can find a program which meets your needs for free, and you don't mind losing your history in Quicken and learning a new program, go for it. I'd just note that QuickBooks is not free, and I don't think Capterra produces personal finance software. 
    Quicken Mac Subscription • Quicken user since 1993
  • Chris_QPW
    Chris_QPW Member ✭✭✭✭
    jacobs said:
    I'd just note that QuickBooks is not free,
    That is an understatement!  It is like 10 times more expensive than Quicken and is also a subscription to boot!
    Signature:
    This is my website: http://www.quicknperlwiz.com/
  • NotACPA
    NotACPA SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭