Create account groups (5 Merged Vote)

M Wax
M Wax Member ✭✭✭
I'm a Quicken user for 20+ years. I like my account groups separate. May I ask is it possible to separate Property and Debt into separate groups? Is it possible to create a group? I would like a separate group for life insurance? I now have it listed under Property and Debt. Shouldn't the user be able to have this ability to conform to how they would like to organize ones assets and debt?
25 votes

Reviewed · Last Updated

Comments

• DorKul
    DorKul Member ✭✭
    edited November 2018
    I'm new to Quicken (recently bought the Quicken Deluxe 2017 version). In
    two different softwares that I used before - I could group my accounts
    together, so that if I have 2 accounts in Bank A, and 3 accounts in Bank B, for example - I could manage each account separately, but still see a roll-up of the total amount in both banks.
    Both previous softwares showed me the accounts grouped by the bank they
    belong to, the balance in each account, and the total balance in that
    bank - all in the left pane at the side. I liked that feature, and it
    seems strange to me that I don't see that option in Quicken.
  • Jim_Harman
    Jim_Harman SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited November 2018
    To put it another way, Quicken has chosen to group accounts in the Account Pane by category and subcategory rather than financial institution. The major categories are Banking, Investing, Property and debt and the subcategories are Checking, Savings, Credit, Investment, Retirement, etc. Many users find this useful.