Should I update to newer program?

bocaskaran
bocaskaran Unconfirmed, Member
edited September 2022 in Installing and Updating (Mac)
Ive been using Quicken since 2011 (Quicken Essentials). In 2016, I updated to Quicken 2015. I have no problems using it. I only use for household and some small investments. I do everything manually which works fine for me. I don't need check writing, payment reminders, or budgeting. There isn't that much and most things are on auto payment systems. I am in my early 70's and am wondering if I should update to a newer version.

Answers

• The Keeper
    The Keeper Member ✭✭✭✭
    You and I are in the same boat. I am 85 and have been using Quicken for about 20 years. I also do everything manually and don't write checks using Quicken since I pay all my bills online through my credit union. I don't need payment reminders because I receive only Social Security and retirement deposit once a month. As a result, I pay my bills once a month after both checks are deposited. I don't need Quicken budgeting because I have an Excel spreadsheet listing what needs to be paid each month and I pay the first of the month even if the bill is due on the 15th of the month. I have been criticized by some for not using Quicken the way it was designed but I do what works for me.

I haven't found another program that is better than Quicken so I am willing to pay the annual subscription price even though I use just a few of the Quicken features. If you can afford it, I would stay with Quicken and sign up for the annual subscription.
  • smayer97
    smayer97 SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    Given that you have no need for any of the online features of Quicken, you can also choose to pay the subscription once and stop the subscription renewal (via your QUicken.com account), then only pay a new renewal if/when you want to get an updated version of Quicken.