Disappearing categories (Q Mac)

Fairnough
Fairnough Member ✭✭
I have been using Quicken for four years. Today, after I updated my accounts online, all categories assigned for the entire four years have disappeared from my credit card account. Checking account is fine. Anybody know how to fix this, short of re-categorizing 4 years worth of data???

Answers

• Fairnough
    Fairnough Member ✭✭
    Update to my post: the categories appear to still be assigned to the transactions, since Reports and Budgets work as expected. But the register just shows "uncategorized" for every transaction.
  • Quicken Jared
    Quicken Jared Alumni ✭✭✭✭
    Fairnough said:
    I have been using Quicken for four years. Today, after I updated my accounts online, all categories assigned for the entire four years have disappeared from my credit card account. Checking account is fine. Anybody know how to fix this, short of re-categorizing 4 years worth of data???
    Hello @Fairnough

I am sorry about this problem with missing categories. Thank you for asking about this here on the Quicken Community.

What financial institution is this credit card associated with? Also, how often do you save backups? We recommend saving backups frequently by navigating to File > Save a Backup File... in the upper menu at the top of the screen while Quicken is open. Provided that this has been done frequently, you should be able to restore from a recent backup by navigating to the same menu and then selecting File > Restore from Backup... Let us know if the issue persists in the restored file.

I look forward to hearing your response.

Thank you,

Quicken Jared 
  • Fairnough
    Fairnough Member ✭✭
    edited September 2022