I want to delete securities from my security list.

Paul Freedman
Paul Freedman Member ✭✭
edited January 2023 in Investing (Windows)
Is there a way to find all securities in my security list that have zero shares in all accounts. I have been using quicken for over 15 years and my security list has hundreds of securities that I have not held for a long time. It would be nice for the security list to show how many shares I own of every security as well as the last transaction date for that security since I want to maintain my capital gains and income history for maybe the last couple of years.

Answers

• splasher
    splasher SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    If you removed the securities that you no longer owned, then you could not do a Networth report since it needs that security information.
    If you removed the securities from the list, you would have to also remove the historical transactions that are in the register, so it is not as simple as removing them from the list.

-splasher using Q continuously since 1996
    - Subscription Quicken - Win11 and QW2013 - Win11
    -Questions? Check out the Quicken Windows FAQ list

• Boatnmaniac
    Boatnmaniac SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    IMO, it would be far better in the Security List to Hide and stop Watching the securities you no longer use and no longer wish to track than to delete them.  If you delete them you will be removing a chunk of your historical data.  And that could also mess up other accounts that might have had transfers of cash and/or securities transactions with the account(s) that had previous history of those deleted securities.

(Quicken Classic Premier Subscription: R54.16 on Windows 11)

• Rocket J Squirrel
    Rocket J Squirrel SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited December 2022
    I have done this. It's not as scary as it sounds, and Quicken is a bit more responsive, but not hugely so. It's a 3 step process and, yes, you will lose information.