File Optimization for Improved Performance

Options
stustra
stustra Member ✭✭
Are there any best practices to improve Quicken's performance? I have Quicken for Windows -- Quicken Deluxe R45.21 Windows 2010 Enterprise -- and it is very slow (e.g., takes a few seconds to tab through and process individual transactions). I have been using Quicken for ~20 years and have a lot of date (e.g., 20,000 transactions, no attachments, file size = 200MB). I read through various discussion threads and it seems like most experts are against archiving old years of data (and I'm concerned about deleting old data or old accounts since everything is linked and it would likely break something else like balances in linked accounts or reconciliations.

So does anyone have good ideas/tips on how to improve performance? Thanks.

Comments

• Chris_QPW
    Chris_QPW Member ✭✭✭✭
    Options
    Here are my very general statements on performance, and I will start with a current problem.
    1. There is a resource leak problem that has been introduced not too long ago, and it means that if you leave Quicken open for extended periods of time, the performance and even crashing will suffer.  At least for now, do what you need to do in Quicken and quit.