Does anyone know how to get quicken to process check numbers as integers not text?

CharlesFS
CharlesFS Member
edited March 2023 in Investing (Mac)
My financial institution adds 6 leading zeros to my check number when it downloads the data. Therefore, in my Quicken register I have check number 2345; and the downloaded number is 0000002345. If those fields are treated as integers, they are equal; if they are treated as text, they are not equal. Currently, I have to add 6 leading zeros to every check I write then I have to delete the zeros after the check information has been downloaded from my bank. This was not an issue until I had to switch to the Quicken subscription version. I have been doing this manual manipulation for two years now and it is getting old and frustrating.

Answers

• NotACPA
    NotACPA SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    You've got it backwards. 2345 is the integer and 0000002345 is text. And I'm not aware of any way to alter the designation in Q's database

Q user since February, 1990. DOS Version 4
    Now running Quicken Windows Subscription, Business & Personal
    Retired "Certified Information Systems Auditor" & Bank Audit VP

• UKR
    UKR SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    What is the name of this financial institution?
    What download protocol do you use? Direct Connect, Express Web Connect, Web Connect?
    Have you talked to their upper management to make them change the downloaded transactions to omit the leading zeros?
    All banks that I have checking accounts with transmit a proper "1234" without leading zeros in the downloaded Check # field.
  • NotACPA
    NotACPA SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    Is this a business account?  Because on personal checks the number field is only 4 positions. It's 10 business checks

Q user since February, 1990. DOS Version 4
    Now running Quicken Windows Subscription, Business & Personal
    Retired "Certified Information Systems Auditor" & Bank Audit VP

• Chris_QPW
    Chris_QPW Member ✭✭✭✭