Improve handling of IRA distributions, including QCDs and Roth conversions

Options
124»

Comments

• h stansfield
    h stansfield Member ✭✭
    Options

I find myself in the same situation in 2023, it's still pretty clunky. In my case, Vanguard does not do a single withdrawal transaction to my bank, it does a separate transaction for each fund holding. So, if my automatic transaction in Vanguard is to sell X dollars from funds A, B, C, within the same account, and withhold taxes and transfer to the bank….I get three transfers to the bank, not one, which just makes it ever more confusing.

So, for those who have created reminders for the bank deposits in these situations, do you do it as a paycheck, a miscellaneous income reminder, or a transfer reminder? And then do you split out the taxes in the reminder? I'm just getting started with this—and I wish it was more streamlined.

• Boatnmaniac
    Boatnmaniac SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited October 2023
    Options

I set up my IRA distributions to checking as Deposit Reminders in my checking account. Click on the "V" at the bottom of the following picture link to expand it and see the step-by-step process for how I do it. It is the same process as what several others have posted here in this thread and is considered by many to be the best method to manage IRA withdrawals so they get properly captured in the Tax Reports and Tax Planner.:

Since you have 3 different transfers you will want to have 3 different Deposit Reminders. You might find it helpful to make them somehow different from each other, such as different net deposit dollar amounts or different transaction dates. By doing this Quicken will be able to properly match the downloaded deposits to your checking account to the correct RMD Deposit Reminder transaction.

(Quicken Classic Premier Subscription: R55.26 on Windows 11)

• Jim_Harman
    Jim_Harman SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    Options