Reconciling Investment Accounts

Options
wab49
wab49 Member ✭✭
edited January 28 in Investing (Mac)

After many years of using Quicken for Windows, I have been using the Mac version for the past several months. I have been having a very hard time keeping investment accounts reconciled. I have a number of such accounts that include mutual funds, money market funds, and cash. When I click the reconcile button in Quicken sometimes it seems to only look at the cash in the account and compares that to the total value of the account online and then says the balance is off by the amount that is not cash. I have looked at holdings under portfolio and they match and the market value of the account in Quicken is correct, but reconcile is off by a very large amount. Do I have some configuration wrong or is this just a Quicken Mac issue? Thank you.

Comments

• jacobs
    jacobs SuperUser, Mac Beta Beta
    Options

In Quicken Mac, at this time, Reconcile only works for cash. But the good news about that is that the developers have recently stated that they are going to implement the ability to reconcile share balances as well:

As with all feature requests on this site, being marked "Planned" means it's on the development team's schedule, but we don't know when it is planned for release.

In the meantime, let's dig a little deeper into what you're trying to accomplish and how things work currently…

(1) When you use the Reconcile window, you're reconciling just the cash balance of an account. And it works just like reconciling a bank account or credit card account: enter the ending balance and date, then check off the transactions which are included, and the reconcile difference should be zero. You can create a New transaction in the Reconcile window (look for the “New” icon), and enter a Type=Payment/Deposit and Category=Adjustment transaction to raise or lower the cash balance if you're not looking to dig into the source of the discrepancy.