Quicken 2001 on Windows 10 (Multi-currency in Switzerland)

Options
Lyndain
Lyndain Member

I've been running a UBS Quicken 2001 version for over 20 years and have flirted with upgrading to a more current version, but the lack of multi-currency support has prevented this.

With some hope I read a closed discussion started by KenGlos Member ✭✭ with comments and feedabck from splasher SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭ and Boatnmaniac SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭ amongst others on in October 2023:

Quicken 2001 on Windows 11 Answered ✓ Closed KenGlos 278 views 28 comments Most recent by KenGlos October 2023 under File Conversion and Backup (Windows).

KenGlos's last post stated "Solved! Need to import the Q file (which I don't remember creating) rather than the MS one. I'll document this saga as I repeat the process on my target computer. That's shorthand, will document properly as I repeat on my target PC" BUT unfortunately I'm unable to find the documented process.

Can anyone point me to or help with this process description?

Answers

• UKR
    UKR SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    Options

Quicken 2004 (US) was the first version that supported multiple currencies. Before that, everything was thought to be in US-$.

If you wish to use multiple currencies, there's a free version of Quicken Deluxe 2013 available for download and install from a link within this discussion:
    https://www.quicken.com/support/how-and-when-use-intermediate-version-convert-older-versions-quicken

As international user, I wouldn't go to a newer version than 2013. It has been reported that Q 2013 will run on Windows 11.

Be sure to retain extra copies of your Q 2001 data files somewhere safe. You don't want to accidentally overwrite your files while attempting conversion.
    If you created year end data files for prior years in addition to your current year's data file, be sure to take them along and let Quicken convert them to the 2013 data file format for you.

• volvogirl
    volvogirl SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    Options