How to deal with Canadian Interac e-Transfers?

Options
Jibby
Jibby Member

Hi folks, I am just getting started and hit this anomoly.

When I Interac e-Transfer to someone I want it to be treated like and expense and categorize it accordingly, but it shows up like a transfer. When I try to categorize it, I get a message

"You are recording a transfer back into the same account - Save it anyway?"

I'm not sure what will happen if I say "yes" to that.

I also get the same behavior when I get an e-Transfer from someone. I generally want to record those as a type of income but it is the same deal as above.

However from time to time I e-Transfer money between 2 of my own accounts and in those cases I do want it to show up exactly like it currently does.

Comments

• Tom Young
    Tom Young SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    Options

It seems like Interact e-Transfers is more or less a Venmo/Debit card/Credit card sort of situation so I'm not really following along with what you're telling us.

Do you have an "Interac e-Tranfers" Account in your Quicken file? Are you relying on downloads into that Account to make entries into your Quicken file? You say "but it shows up like a transfer" but you don't say where it "shows up" nor what Account in your Quicken file is the "other side" of the transfer. (Or, maybe, it's the same Interac e-Transfer Account?) Can you post some screen shots of what you're seeing and where?

IF Interac e-Transfers is nothing more than an mechanism for moving money, and not an "account" in the sense that you expect it to have a balance, then I don't know why you have (if you have) an Interac e-Transfer Account in your file in the first place. So, for example if you're sending money from your checking Account to an online store, say, and Interac e-Transfer is the "mechanism" for sending that money, then I'd simply enter the transaction in the checking Account using the appropriate Category.