Upgrade from Quicken 2007?

Options
I've been using Quicken 2007 for many years and ignored all the attempts to sell me upgrades because it was working well for me.  I just upgraded my MAC to High Sierra OS and can't save the Quicken file after I reconcile.  I assume I have to upgrade to one of the subscription programs...the big question is, will the new software integrate my past history with Quicken 2007

Comments

• GeoffG
    GeoffG SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    Options
    You should update the category question to Mac to get a valid response.
  • smayer97
    smayer97 SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    Options
    If you have QM2007 LC version (v16.1.x or greater) it still works on HIgh Sierra (in fact it still works on Mojave too, macOS 10.14, though this will probably be the last macOS version on which it will work). If so, you are most likely just running into the Auto-Backup feature that is incompatible with the lastest version of Apple's new drive format, APFS. Note that all built-in file related functions in QM2007 are incompatible with APFS (Save a Copy, Backup to disk, etc). 

The work-around is to either simply turn off the Auto-Backup in the preferences or to store your data and backups on a HFS+ (Mac OS Extended) formatted drive or partition. 

You can read more about this in these threads:

Have Questions? Help Guide for Quicken for Mac
    FAQs: Quicken MacQuicken WindowsQuicken Mobile
    Add your VOTE to Quicken for Mac Product Ideas

Object to Quicken's business model, using up 25% of your screen? Add your vote here:
    Quicken should eliminate the LARGE Ad space when a subscription expires

(Now Archived, even with over 350 votes!)

(Canadian user since '92, STILL using QM2007)

• smayer97
    smayer97 SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    Options
    So, you have 2 choices: Buy the subscription to Quicken for Mac or continue to use Quicken 2007 Lion Compatible version.