Migrating from Q2007 for Mac to Quicken Deluxe (on Mojave)

I've been using Quicken since 1998 (or perhaps even earlier). I still have the distribution floppies the original release came on! I have over two decades of banking and investment records in the data file. I'm now on Q2007, with it configured for Canadian operation in the Preferences. I'm now contemplating an upgrade to the current version of Quicken Deluxe, thanks to attractive Black Friday pricing. I've tried in the past to migrate, once to Q2015, and then again two years later to Q2017. Both attempts were unmitigated disasters. After the import of my Q2007 data file into Q2015, I found dozens and dozens of problems. Balances wrong. Missing transfers. Missing equities. Broken reconciliations. No knowledge of the Royal Bank of Canada. I spent hours trying to 'tidy things up'. I spent hours on the phone with Quicken Support, all to no avail. I gave up. Foolishly, I tried again in 2017, with the same result. Some, though not all, of the problems seemed to be due to the fact that those new versions of Quicken for Mac really didn't know about Canada.

Having just upgraded my Mac to Mojave, I find that Q2007 is partly broken. (it refuses to auto-save backup files). Not serious, but it's clear that Q2007 is well past its end of life.

Is it practical to migrate from my Q2007 data file (which itself was migrated from Q2004, and before that, Q1998) to the current version of Quicken Deluxe for Mac? Will I have to spend hours again trying to tidy things up, if it's even possible to do so?

Any advice or insights from those who have been down this journey will be much appreciated.

Best Answers

Answers

• drcuddy
    drcuddy Member ✭✭
    Quicken Tyka,
    Thanks so much for the link to the compilation by smayer. That is very helpful information.