Quicken for Mac v5.15 Released

Comments

• RickO
    RickO SuperUser, Mac Beta Beta
    Here's another post that emphasizes why the QuickeFill check box needs to stay as last checked, or at least have a user-controlled preference setting. And the same applies to the Payee rename checkbox.

https://community.quicken.com/discussion/7871044/oh-lord-please-help-me-disable-quickfill-mac-5-15-1-build-515-32947-100

Quicken Mac Subscription; Quicken Mac user since the early 90s
  • dental_floss
    dental_floss Member ✭✭✭
    > @dental_floss said:
    > I recently switched from Quicken Windows to Mac since I no longer have Windows hardware and I am now all Mac-based.. so I am relatively new to the Mac version of Quicken.
    >
    > I support adding new enhancements to the tools, but these enhancements must come with user-friendly settings, and the features that haunt me in QuickenMac relate to auto categorization (and now quick fill).
    > ...

As a follow-up - Another UI problem ... if I edit a Tag on a transaction, a new entry is automagically added to the QuickFill rules, but there is no notification in or near the tag entry field about Quickfill rules being updated (unlike what I see above the category field).
  • jacobs
    jacobs SuperUser, Mac Beta Beta
    @dental_floss Yes, I'm afraid that's because the developers seemed to originally view QuickFill as primarily a tool for auto-categorization, so they tied it to the Category field. But in listening to user feedback, they now allow it to work for all fields -- which makes many of us happy -- but failed to change the user interface to make it easily visible while entering/editing those other fields. Hopefully, they'll continue listening that this is confusing and tweak the UI in the next release.