Investment differences Deluxe vs Premier

mansart
mansart Member, Windows Beta Beta
Background:
I have been using Quicken Premier for many years, but I'm not sure that I'm using any of the features that I'm paying for (over and above those available in Deluxe). I don't use the bill pay features (I don't trust Quicken to pay my bills) and I've never called customer service, but I do have investments that I track in Quicken. I download transactions from my brokerage, and occasionally manually enter or adjust a transaction, but that's about it.

My questions:
What exactly can I do with Premier, in terms of investments, that I cannot do with Deluxe? Does Deluxe have all the same investment transaction types?
Does it have the same "Holdings" view in the transaction register?
Is there any way to preview what my Quicken file would look like in Deluxe?
Tagged:

Best Answer

• Jim_Harman
    Jim_Harman SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    Answer ✓
    Here is a summary of some investment related differences between current versions of Deluxe and Premier:

-- Premier has a Portfolio X-Ray tab under Investing. This lets you send a snapshot of your holdings from selected accounts and securities to Morningstar. Morningstar analyzes the data and returns a page that looks like the Portfolio X-Ray, which I think is normally available only to their subscribers. It shows your overall asset allocation, the weightings of your holdings by the M* Style boxes, by sector, and by global region.

The X-Ray also returns a Stock Intersection page that analyzes the underlying stocks in your holdings, to show your largest combined stock holdings.

-- Premier also has an enhanced version of the Growth of $10,000 chart on the Investing Performance page. This lets you compare your performance for selected accounts and securities to a "Buy and Hold" strategy, which I think assumes that you kept your original holdings for the whole analysis period.