Importing from a much older version - Quicken 2002 UK

Patty65
Patty65 Quicken Windows Other Member
edited July 2023 in Before you Buy

I have been operating Quicken here in the UK since 1998! Yes! Quicken 2002 Deluxe QDATA122

I think I should buy a new version. I honestly don't want to but feel it's best for security. Can I upload all of my years worth of data into the new version?

Answers

• Boatnmaniac
    Boatnmaniac Quicken Windows Subscription SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭

Intuit discontinued support for Quicken UK 15-20 yrs ago and has had no UK offering since then. The only options now sold and supported by Quicken (no longer owned by Intuit) are for US and Canada.

I am also guessing that there a no users in this forum who have any or much knowledge about Quicken UK (regardless of the year) but maybe someone will add a post here proving me wrong about that.

If (and that is a big "if") Quicken UK has some compatibility with the US or Canada softwares you would need to go through several steps to convert your data files but it would be safe to say that any features/functions that are unique or specific to the UK would very likely be lost. You can read up on the process to converting old Quicken US versions to newer ones here: https://www.quicken.com/support/how-and-when-use-intermediate-version-convert-older-versions-quicken .

Is there some reason you are concerned about security with your Quicken software? Since it cannot connect with the Internet it is solely contained on your computer so the only security risk that I can think of might be with your computer itself, not with the Quicken software. Make sure you have the Windows security updates and anti-malware software updates and your Quicken software should be relatively secure.

Unless someone more knowledgeable on this than me posts here, I think your best bet is to continue using your Quicken 2002 UK.

Quicken Classic Premier (US) Subscription: R59.10 on Windows 11

• jacobs