Definitely, a man of few words.

-splasher using Q continuously since 1996
    - Subscription Quicken - Win11 and QW2013 - Win11
    -Questions? Check out the Quicken Windows FAQ list

• Ray Cosner
    Ray Cosner Member ✭✭✭✭
    edited October 2023
    Options

My first very short post was a fat-finger error.

For a couple weeks, I have been having the same problem many other people have reported - blank screen when opening Q, must select the QDF file, enter Quicken password, then proceed normally. I have been using OneDrive since 2014 for almost everything on my PC, including my working QDF file, with no problems.

I tried the solutions recommended by @Jim_Harman - Both his Option A and B cleared my Q launch problem, with some additional benefits. First, I paused OneDrive syncing, and Q launched cleanly. I then moved my working QDF file outside the OneDrive System, rebooted, and that also launched cleanly. There were a couple unanticipated benefits. (1) The One Step Update now runs significantly faster - about 20 seconds instead of 2 minutes. (2) The sync to Q web/Mobile has reliably corrupted my Tax Planner for at least five years, but now it runs quickly and reliably. I still keep my Q backup files on OneDrive.

As mentioned above, I have used OneDrive extensively for nine years, including keeping the QDF on OneDrive. I had complete trust in OneDrive. Once, it really saved my bacon. One day I discovered that all my Q files had vanished from my PC, including Q software, and all my QDF and backup files (I have discussed this previously in this forum). After a moment of panic, I found everything in the OneDrive recycle bin, restored all the Quicken stuff, and I was back in business in five minutes just as if nothing had happened!!!