Quicken for Mac v5.12 Released

Comments

• Kevin McGuire
    Kevin McGuire Member ✭✭
    edited August 2019
    My problem with 5.12 is that the update came days prior to me migrating to a new laptop out of necessity. Only 5.11.2 was available for download and even when I contacted an agent through chat (weekend), they did not have the ability to provide a link to the newest version nor even seemed to know of it.

On my own, I finally tried replacing the app with a copy from my old computer and that seemed to work. (I also transferred the folders within the Application Support directory.)

I work in the software industry and completely understand the limited initial rollout, but your support staff (even the weekend staff) needs to know how to handle it or at least how to properly advise customers in the midst of it.

All that being said, I appreciate the fact that after years of languishing in the hands of Intuit, Quicken for Mac has been getting a lot of love and updates since those days. I know it's not easy making changes and having everyone in agreement. I am encouraged that users seem to be giving constructive feedback to help make it better. Keep up the good work.
  • RickO
    RickO SuperUser, Mac Beta Beta
    jacobs said:
    I believe the most pressing issue is getting rid of the old Category Summary report a.s.a.p. I think it should be possible to do that programmatically; that is, I think the settings for all old Category Summary reports can easily be translated into settings for a new Transaction or Summary report. So a program update could change those reports, eliminate Category summary from the menu, and pop up an alert to tell users that some old reports might look a little different because they have been migrated to the newer, better reports engine.