Provide ability to add STOCK INDICES to Investing's "Portfolio" (graph) view... (1 Merged Vote)

Joachim G Ruehle
Joachim G Ruehle Member ✭✭
edited October 2023 in Investments
As way to help benchmark the performance of one's investments, it would be extremely useful if one could select one or more stock indices (i.e. S&P/TSX Composite Index; Dow Jones Industrial Average; S&P500; Nasdaq Composite; Nasdaq-100, etc.) to be shown in Quicken for MAC's "Portfolio" (graph) view.
Tagged:
42 votes

Planned · Last Updated

This request has been accepted by the Development team for future implementation, however, there is no ETA on when this will be available. QMAC-5266

Comments

• Quicken_Natalie
    Quicken_Natalie Moderator mod
    edited February 2020
    I've been using Quicken for a long time (15 years?) and only for investment tracking.  I like all my accounts and even banking now (thanks for fixing that) all on one home page.  Quicken is a very good portfolio manager for people like me.  I evaluated many over the years and keep coming back to Quicken.

Suggestions:
    Porfolio graphic would be more useful to investor if you could overlay an index (S&P, DJIA, maybe even some basket of stocks).  You can then compare your performance to that index or metric.

As an investor, I often wish I could remember specific events and how they affected my stock portfolio.  On the same portfolio graphic as mentioned above I would love to be able to put annotations on the graph so I could see where I bought and sold things or when a major news event caused a change in overall value.  It would require a way to manually input small text descriptions by date so that it could be overlayed on the portfolio graph.  You could have checkboxes for your choice of newsfeeds or personal events to be overlayed.  This would come in handy I think.