What do you want to know about using Quicken for Mac 2016?

Options
124»

Comments

• Unknown
    Unknown Member
    edited November 2016
    Options

I have been using Quicken since 1995 and currently have the most recent update of Q2007 for Mac. I understand that you will soon stop supporting it and that a new MacOS may soon make it unusable. But my entire financial history lives in this app and I want to know what to expect when I update to 2016 (or 2017):

Will the new version transfer my current data file without losing any of my historical info - accounts, transactions, categories, classes, securities, report customizations, etc? If not, what problems can I expect and are they solvable? Please tell me now - I hate surprises.

What will I immediately have to know about doing any things differently?

If I get 2016, will the imminent upgrade to 2017 be free? If you were me, would you wait for 2017?

Is there a printed manual as in the old days? Online tutorial for upgrading?

Thank you.

we purchased the 2016 Quicken and I down loaded it and thought thats what I have been using all this year to just find out I am still on 2015 Quicken.
    I reopened 2016 but it only has bank and CC infomation since Jan 2016. I dont want to manually down loan a year of info how can I fix this
    Linda
  • smayer97
    smayer97 SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited December 2016
    Options

I have been using Quicken since 1995 and currently have the most recent update of Q2007 for Mac. I understand that you will soon stop supporting it and that a new MacOS may soon make it unusable. But my entire financial history lives in this app and I want to know what to expect when I update to 2016 (or 2017):

Will the new version transfer my current data file without losing any of my historical info - accounts, transactions, categories, classes, securities, report customizations, etc? If not, what problems can I expect and are they solvable? Please tell me now - I hate surprises.