Mac Request option to hide categories and tags (32 Legacy Votes +66 Merged Votes)

Options
13»

Comments

• scwerden
    scwerden Member ✭✭✭
    Options
    Been using Quicken in various forms for many years and have quite a few old and very old Categories in the list of categories. Perhaps, I've missed this but would love to be able to HIDE/UnHIDE old categories and have them stay hidden till they are UnHidden.
    Thanks for a great program.
    Stowell
  • Tallt65
    Tallt65 Member ✭✭
    edited April 2022
    Options
    I have been using Quicken for over two decades and have a lot of historical data that I want to retain. One of my frustrations that has increased over time, is the lack of an ability to hide entires in my Category and Securities lists that are no longer active.

After years of use I have numerous categories that are no longer used and numerous securities that were sold years ago. Every time I access a Category or Securities pull-down option, I have to scroll through items that long ago lost their relevance.

On the other hand, if I delete those items they will be deleted from their respective transactions and from reports I use to compare historical periods.

Can't you offer a 'Hide' option for these lists, similar to what is available with the Accounts list?
  • jacobs
    jacobs SuperUser, Mac Beta Beta
    edited April 2022
    Options
    [Edited after a moderator merged your Idea post into this one]

@Tallt65  To add your vote for this feature, click here to jump to the top of the first page of this thread.

Regarding your other request — the ability to hide securities — there is a separate Idea post here. The good news is that that one is listed as "Planned" for future implementation. (You cannot add a vote to it because voting is turned off once an Idea has its status changed to "Planned.")
    Quicken Mac Subscription • Quicken user since 1993
  • Quicken Jasmine
    Quicken Jasmine Moderator mod
    Options
    Hello @Tallt65,