Best upgrade route from Windows Quicken 2002 (to Mac)

jnoble100
jnoble100 Member ✭✭
Hi gang. I've been using Quicken UK on Windows for many years now but use Macs at home now. I have Quicken 2002 Deluxe for Windows running under a VM on my Mac and usually it works but currently getting invalid file errors after backing up the file in Quicken and then going to the main data file. Worked fine 2 weeks ago but now getting this error. I reckon I've got over 20 years financial data in total, so don't want to lose it.

Is there a recommended upgrade route to go to get Quicken on the Mac and import all my data from the Windows version? With GBP as my main currency as based in the UK.

Can't find any Mac based equivalent products that work as well as Quicken, hence the Windows 10 VM just for Quicken 2002.

Thanks in advance.

-- Jason

Answers

• Quicken Anja
    Quicken Anja Moderator mod
    Hello @jnoble100,

Thank you for reaching out to the Community with your question.

To upgrade from Quicken for Windows 2002 to Quicken for Mac 2020 you will first need to convert your data using two different Quicken for Windows intermediate versions before converting to Quicken for Mac - Quicken for Windows 2004, then Quicken for Windows 2013.

Please, review this support article for instructions on how to do so. First, open and follow the instructions found in the blue dropdown section titled Converting a data file from Quicken 98 - 2003, then open and follow the instructions found in the blue dropdown section titled If you are converting from Quicken 2004 through 2009.

Once that is done, please review and follow the instructions found in this support article on how to convert from Quicken for Windows to Quicken for Mac.

I hope this helps!

-Quicken Anja
    Make sure to sign up for the email digest to see a round up of your top posts.

• jnoble100
    jnoble100 Member ✭✭