From Eric Dunn, CEO of Quicken: Letter to the Quicken Community about the Membership Plan (November

Comments

• mistertheplague
    mistertheplague Member ✭✭✭
    edited November 2017

I agree with every single negative comment in this forum.

I have used Quicken since the very first edition--and used Microsoft Money until it ended. I am a programmer and writer. For the same reason I did NOT go with Office 365 but bought my own copy of Office, that is, lack of ownership of the product, I will not be upgrading to Quicken 2018 and agreeing to a one-year ownership model where I lose the utility if I do not renew.

Too bad that Quicken is going with this model. It cannot be good for the user in the long run.

@splasher: sort of reminds me of "home ownership." Stop paying your mortgage if you want to find out who really owns your home. 
    Quicken Premier Mac and Windows
  • OleSVM
    OleSVM Member ✭✭✭
    edited November 2017

I have used Quicken since the very first edition--and used Microsoft Money until it ended. I am a programmer and writer. For the same reason I did NOT go with Office 365 but bought my own copy of Office, that is, lack of ownership of the product, I will not be upgrading to Quicken 2018 and agreeing to a one-year ownership model where I lose the utility if I do not renew.

Too bad that Quicken is going with this model. It cannot be good for the user in the long run.

Oh! Wait a minute.  This almost makes sense until you consider:

- The lien holder only owns a claim on the property not the property itself

- The deed carries the name of the purchaser, not the lien holder

- The owner named on the deed is responsible for taxes, insurance & liability

Just points to consider when making the ownership calculus

Peace

Steve
  • Unknown
    Unknown Member
    edited November 2017

In truth it really doesn't matter about any "comparisons".  Like most things you have a contract with another party, and you have agreed to the live by it.